2016 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Winner and Finalists

2016 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Winner and Finalists

posted in: Awards | 2

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) is pleased and proud to announce the finalists for the 2016 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction.  Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of young adult author Amelia Elizabeth Walden, the award allows for the sum of $5,000 to be presented annually to the author of a young adult title selected by the ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Committee as demonstrating a positive approach to life, widespread teen appeal, and literary merit. Click here to view the official press release and follow this link for more information about the award.


The 2016 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Winner


All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely
(Atheneum Books for Young Readers / Caitlyn Dlouhy Books)

The 2016 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Finalists

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (Penguin Random House / Knopf Books for Young Readers)

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (HarperCollins / HarperTeen)

Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Pérez (Lerner / Carolrhoda Lab)

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

2 Responses

  1. […] Monday, August 8, 2016, ALAN announced the winner and four finalists of its 2016 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award, an award  in honor of educator, YA author, and YA literature pioneer, Amelia […]

  2. […] debated, announced and presented book awards over meals. Participants gathered to discuss the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award, while at the Children’s Literature Luncheon, the 2015 winners of the prestigious Charlotte Huck […]