ALAN Award

Almost from its inception, ALAN has given the ALAN Award to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of adolescent literature. The recipient may be a publisher, author, librarian, scholar, editor, or servant to the organization. Each year, an honoree is chosen by the Executive Board and receives the ALAN Award at the annual ALAN breakfast, which is held early morning Saturday during the NCTE Convention. A list of past honorees is listed below.


2013 Judy Blume
2012 George Nicholson
2011 Sharon Draper
2010 Jack Gantos
2009 Naomi Shihab Nye
2008 Laurie Halse Anderson
2007 Teri Lesesne
2006 Virginia Monseau & Marc Aronson
2005 Jerry Spinelli
2004 Jacqueline Woodson
2003 Norma Fox Mazer; Harry Mazer (co-winners)
2002 Paul Zindel
2001 Patty Campbell
2000 M.E. Kerr
1999 Robert Lipsyte
1998 S.E. Hinton
1997 Mildred Taylor
1996 Bill Morris
1995 Robert C. Small, Jr
1994 Walter Dean Myers
1993 Chris Crutcher
1992 Don Gallo
1991 Gary Paulsen
1990 Richard Peck
1989 Cynthia Voigt
1988 Ted Hipple
1987 Katherine Paterson & Allene Pace Nilsen
1986 Madeleine L’Engle
1985 Sue Ellen Bridgers
1984 Louise Rosenblatt
1983 Ken Donelson
1982 Robert Cormier
1981 Sheila Schwartz
1980 Dwight Burton
1979 Gerri LaRocque
1978 Mary Sucher
1977 Marguerite Archer
1976 Margaret McElderry & M. Jerry Weiss
1975 Margaret Edwards
1974 Stephen Judy & G. Robert Carlsen

About ALAN

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of NCTE (ALAN) promotes communication and cooperation among all individuals who have a special interest in adolescent literature, presents programs and conferences on this subject, promotes and increases the number of articles and publications devoted to it and integrates the efforts of all those with an interest in this literature.

You can find a list of officers and directors in the organization at this page.


  • Add Photos
  • View All

Latest Activity

Profile IconAssembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) via Facebook

We are pleased and proud to announce the finalists for the 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. The finalists are: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell, Jumped In by Patrick Flores-Scott, The Milk of Birds by Sylvia…

See More
FacebookJul 17 · Reply
Profile IconAssembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) via Facebook

Your Anti-Censorship Committee recently sent a letter to officials in Brunswick County, North Carolina, in support of readers' rights and _The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian_, a book facing challenges there.…

See More
FacebookJul 8 · Reply
Profile IconAssembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) via Facebook

A new Call for Submissions has been posted: Beyond Borders: Partnering Within and Across Schools and Communities. Check out the details at


See More
FacebookJul 5 · Reply
Profile IconAssembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) via Facebook

Read ALAN's "Under The Radar" (UTR) committee's latest column featuring two YAL books from Flux. cj bott, James Bucky Carter, Sean Kottke, Jon Ostenson, Daria Plum, and Jennifer Walsh discuss BEAUTIFUL MUSIC FOR UGLY…

See More
FacebookJun 26 · Reply

© 2014   Created by ALAN Webmaster.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service